Why do several atheists target Christianity?

Answer by A Quora admin:

What, to you, constitutes 'a lot'? I ask because I see a 'a lot' of whining about 'rude atheists' that usually turns out to be the thin skin of believers who have no viable arguments to offer to criticism. In almost every case, these believers actually think that non-believers should suppress their opinions (in a forum designed for expressing opinions, no less!) because religious beliefs are so very personal and precious . . . sacrosanct, even.

Ayaan Hirsi Ali reminds us:

"Avoiding offense means that we don't accept each other as equals."

If I have to treat you with kid gloves, I would be treating you as inferior and weak. Why would ANYBODY want to be treated that way? I can't respect that! If you really expect me to suppress my honest opinions for the sake of your 'feelings', then you've got another thing coming. I don't come here to toe your line, nor do I see any valid reason for why I should. Religious beliefs are no more exempt from criticism than any other beliefs. In fact, if you ever watch or read the news, you should see that religious beliefs cry out for criticism! The problems with religions are serious and palpable.

That's my default position.

Additional to my default position is the aggravation of the all-too-typical, behavior of many (most?) believers on forums like Quora. Specifically:

  • intentionally obtuse replies that refuse to recognize valid points
  • essentially dishonest use of logical fallacies to prop up ridiculous or impossible claims
  • godspeak: pretending to know about things supernatural or the mind of God or other things one can't possibly know
  • futile attempts to claim evidence where there is none
  • whining about rude atheists as if name-calling and ridiculing is commonplace

These behaviors are all too common here (and other online forums). If you want to be impervious to reason, be my guest. If you want to complain about it, don't expect my sympathy.

“If you could reason with religious people, there would be no religious people.” ~Hugh Laurie (Dr. Gregory House)

Why do several atheists target Christianity?

Leave a Reply

